In the beginning.

November 16, 2009 at 9:41 pm 13 comments

Most women, when they fall in love and meet that man they want to spend the rest of their live with, they  have a little fantasy.

It’s the How I’m going to tell my husband that I’m pregnant fantasy.

Mine involved Cake.

I thought I would write Congrats Your a Daddy! on a chocolate cake in blue icing.

I would wait until he travels on business, which he routinely does, and I would surprise him with this cake after he arrived from the airport.

We would hug and kiss, and he would rub my stomach and treat me like a princess carrying his child. Shower me with kisses and fetch me girken pickles and oka cheese.

That was my dream.

This is reality.

My reality is one filled with extensive drugs, acupuncture, yoga, visualizations, numerous  IVFs, FETs, clinics and  another woman.

Yes, you read that right.

My two little babies are growing in my dear friend’s belly. With my friend my children are happy, safe and making her very nauseated. With the great generous help of our gestational carrier(and friend!) M, we will have a family, one in which we have dreamed of for over a decade.

This is our journey to parenthood.

(11 weeks 4 days)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

What’s in a bag?

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. uncomplicateme  |  November 17, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Hooray! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Kim  |  November 17, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I’m so glad you’re blogging again! I missed you.
    Love and hugs from across the pond. I am soooooo happy for you and keeping everything crossed for those little ‘guys’.

    Reply
  • 3. MEG.  |  November 17, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Doesn’t sound so strange to me. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Jamie  |  November 17, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Almost out of the first tri!!

    Reply
  • 5. Sarah @ whentwobecomesthree  |  November 17, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Gosh – it’s about time you blogged again!!!

    Hooray for babies!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. TABI  |  November 17, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Nice to see your new blog home and the start of a new journey! Congrats again and can’t wait to hear how your beautiful twins progress!

    Reply
  • 7. JellyBelly  |  November 17, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Yay babies!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Niki  |  November 17, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Welcome back dear friend! I missed you! Congrats on the twin boys and best wishes on this exciting journey!

    Reply
  • 9. maria  |  November 19, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Love your new blog Duck!!! I can’t wait to follow this part of your journey. I added you to my links list.

    Reply
  • 10. Erica  |  November 21, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Here from LFCA. Nice to meet you. Yes I had the fantasy about telling my husband and mom I was pregnant. It has never happened and probably never will. I am now an adoptive mom and had different and wonderful ways to announce our expectancy of child. That is wonderful you have babies awaiting and growing through your friend. What a wonderful gift. I have been offered this gift as well. I may have some questions for you as she is avery good friend. If you don’t mind.

    Reply
    • 11. thecanadianduck  |  November 21, 2009 at 12:36 pm

      Contact me any time! I will send you an email.

      Reply
  • 12. FET Accompli  |  November 28, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Bit late to arrive to the party – can’t wait to follow your journey, my dear!

    Reply
  • 13. Amanda  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Horray! I was just estatic to see you back online. And a HUGE congrats to you and hubby, TWINS, WOOHOO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,535 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


