What’s in a bag?

November 19, 2009 at 9:48 pm 10 comments

12 weeks 3 days

As an intended mother it can be very difficult for you to feel like your expecting.

For many first time mothers, it is hard to really believe that you will have a baby 9 months after getting that positive test. I’ve read many a blog post from women who are 20 weeks pregnant and still paddling down that river called de-nial.

As an Intended Mother not only are we paddling down the river, to be frank we may just take up residence there. After all, I’m not puking, or having little uterus pulling, I’m not gaining weight or watching what I eat.

Quite the opposite, now that I no longer am in must-preserve-eggs-for-ivf mode I drink real coffee whenever I want it. Whenever I recover from my most recent surgery (I had a laparascopic surgery to remove endometriosis and they took my left ovary) I can even have wine.

Today I did something to make this whole expecting thing a little bit real. I made my very first purchase. A diaper bag

I’m picky about diaper bags and wanted something funky, cool, functional and did NOT look like a diaper bag, when I saw this finally on line (I’ve been searching for a few days) and ON SALE I had to buy it.

Now while buying a diaper bag may help to solidify this pregnancy, what helps even more is M our GS. She’s very helpful in trying her very best to make it real for me. She kindly shares her time with me where I can chat with her on the phone and pick her brain about babies (where do they sleep when they first come out?) and pregnancy symptoms – I really do want to know about puking and little uterus twinges, all the details… It’s amazing, not only is she safely taking care of her babies, she’s even willing to help me along as I figure out how to become a mom (and doesn’t even laugh at my very ridiculous questions).

Today was one of those BIG sharing days. Today we had the Nuchal scan, and while I sat in my cubicle at work writing(I can no longer attend appointments because my boss isΒ a so-you’re-expecting-we-may-just-fire-you -any-minute-because-you-are-no-longer-of-use-ARSE – AND he’s a bloody doctor), M and Mr.Duck were getting to peek at our little peanuts. After some ultra sound appointment confusion M went in for her appointment and Mr. Duck waited for 15 minutes in the waiting room while they did all the measurements. Of course Mr. Duck being the jumpy kinda guy he is walked in to the room and demanded to know if something was wrong(yup – we’re infertile – we worry for no reason). The ultra sound tech replied that everything looked great and proceed to show Mr. the peanuts. He got to see their little faces (there was noses so good signs that all is okay), and baby B was kicking up a little storm.

Stats:

Age – Mr. Forgot to ask what age they were measuring at but did remember to ask if they were measuring closely, apparently one baby is measuring one day ahead of the other.

Size – 7.83 cm! Big little peanuts

Heart rates – 160 and 166

Entry filed under: First Trimester. Tags: , , .

In the beginning. Firsts.

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. "M" aka the Bun-baker  |  November 19, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Mr. Duck is so forgetful!!!
    The babies are measuring 12w2d and 12w3d…..Silly fella!!!

    I am blessed to have found you guys!!!! You ROCK!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Niki  |  November 19, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Great news on your little ones! Apparently I’m expecting them to be boys. πŸ˜‰ I’m glad to hear that they are measuring right on and that your GS is doing so well! Oh and I LOVE the diaper bag, btw! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. Niki  |  November 19, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    OMG Duck … I just noticed your sidebar! What a perfect EDD for twins–Mother’s Day. So perfectly fitting for you dear. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Denise  |  November 19, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    Men never remember the important details, do they?!

    Reply
  • 5. Jen  |  November 20, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Love the bag and the new blog! Cannot wait for more updates on the (ever expanding) peanuts! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. MEG.  |  November 20, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Wonderful news! And Happy 2nd Trimester! I really can’t believe how fast time is flying.

    So glad that you and GS have such a great relationship. I know it’s not always easy to stand on the “Sidelines.”

    Wonderful pick on the diaper bag. You have good taste. =)

    Reply
  • 7. Jamie  |  November 20, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    What great news! Grow, little peanuts, grow!

    I love the diaper bag. It is amazing how momentous that first baby purchase is. I was a nervous wreck walking up to the counter, but taking it to my car afterwards it felt like victory!

    Reply
  • 8. annacyclopedia  |  November 21, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Oh, Duck, what wonderful news that all is going so well with the peanuts! And so glad you’re bloggig again!

    Reply
  • 9. FET Accompli  |  November 28, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Big peanuts!! And love the diaper bag!!

    Reply
  • 10. Amanda  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:36 am

    LOVE the diaper bag, very trendy and totally does not look like one either.

    Babies measuring a day or two different is really common, and sounds like right on target!

    Going by the heartrates, I say you got 2 girls in there…what does M think? She think girls or boys?

    Wow, 1st trimester is over, you must be able to breathe a small sigh of relief, 1/3 of the way done! CONGRATS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,617 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


