Firsts.

November 21, 2009 at 8:03 pm 12 comments

12 weeks 5days

Today, my husband and I experienced some firsts.

We went looking at baby stuff. Armed with our Starbucks coffee we roamed the city going from baby store to baby store looking at cribs, bedding, slings and strollers.

The highlight for me was PotteryBarnKids where the staff were EXCELLENT. No strange looks or examination for lack of belly bump. My husband and I saw a crib on sale on-line that we really liked (simple off white crib at a v.v. reduced price). Of course, that is in the states, in Canada the crib is not on sale. But they gave us a catalog, explained when things go on sale (towards the end of the year/beginning of the new year, before the new stock comes in February). They even recommended creating a registry as you can get 10% off. They were nice, and for the very first time ever I was treated like an expectant Mom and it felt great.

Another highlight was sears. Mr. Duck and I wondered in and saw the stroller that we are considering:

Wanting to collapse the stroller we figured out how to remove the seat and got stuck there. For the life of us we could not figure out how to move on. We pulled at the strollers bits, pressed down buttons, but, nothing.

Along came a helpful sales lady who pressed a few buttons and quickly squished it down, and I then figured out the lock. To our delight it squashes quite small, small enough to fit it all in the trunk of a civic. The sales lady said “twins?”. And we smiled and said “yeah we’re having twins”. There were oohhs and ahhs from the two sales ladies, we thanked them for our help and skipped away.

The only not so satisfying experience was babiesrus, which seemed to be filled to the brim with pushy pregnant women. Normally I cut people a lot of slack (who knows what exactly is happening in their lives). However, today, I was a wee bit annoyed. I was standing at the back of the store, in a tight corner examining crib bedding, I was reaching out to pick up a package when a pregnant couple moved in front of me and stopped and totally took up the entire space in front of the bedding I was looking at, not like they were close but, directly in front of me, I could have reached out and licked the back of their necks.

They stayed, I stayed.

Waiting and waiting, while the woman winged that the wall apliques were too dark (okay so get the hell out of the way so I can look) and whinges about where is the sales lady I need to get the wall art, blah blah blah.  Eventual I had to walk away and just not get to look at the bedding, it was either that or yell at some stranger, and I just didn’t see the point.

Babies R us seemed to be teeming with annoying pushy couples as many with bump people kept pushing in front of me to see stuff, I was examining a twin stroller when they walked right up and grabbed the stroller to take it for a run, it got to the point where I just had to leave, because they were putting a serious damper on my otherwise happy experience. The one good part of babies R Us is I got to try on a few hot slings, which have specific sizes ranging from 1 to 9. The smallest size they had at babiesrus was a 3, which sorta fit, but, may still be too big. Still trying on babies slings was seriously seriously exciting. Can’t wait till I get to by my very first nursing bra!

Speaking of nursing bras, Monday of this week I started the lactation induction protocol (ortho 1/35 birth control pill continuously and domperidone) – today I saw Dr. Newman’s book at Chapters so tonight I will be doing the on line search to find it used!

Entry filed under: First Trimester. Tags: , .

What’s in a bag? Support, Official news and Growing Boobs.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jaymee  |  November 21, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    sound like a wonderful day, minus the bump brigade! they can really get on your nerves. i am so happy that you got treated like the expectant mother that you are!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah @ whentwobecomesthree  |  November 21, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    I am just getting over my when-we-were-expecting wounds from BRU.

    You can have my hotsling if you would like. It’s a size 4 but someone shrunk it – not naming any names….cough..brad..cough.

    I am so happy for you!

    Reply
  • 3. Denise  |  November 21, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    BRU is a necessary evil in our world. But glad you enjoyed the rest of the day!

    Reply
  • 4. JellyBelly  |  November 21, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    BRU is an evil, evil place. I’ve decided to purchase any baby-related items for my incredibly fertile friends at S.hoppers.

    Sounds like you had a good day. I’m so excited that you get to shop for baby stuff!

    Reply
  • 5. Life with Kaishon  |  November 22, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I saw your comment at When Two becomes Three and I thought your little blog name was so cute I just had to come and say hi : ) Congratulations on your pregnancy Mrs. Duck! Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 6. My Reality  |  November 22, 2009 at 11:35 am

    At 36 weeks, I still find BRU difficult. I am glad to see you are getting excited about this!

    Reply
  • 7. Sunshine  |  November 22, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Forget BRU! I hate that place – do you have Buy Buy Baby? When I was pg (before I lost the baby at 20 weeks/IVF #8) we compared both. BRU was gross, I hated all the people there, the customers were pushy and just- not for us. Go to a safer place if you can and stay clear of that horrid store. (Just my two cents!)

    Reply
  • 8. Cyn  |  November 22, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    I am SO happy to see you blogging again! I had noticed on SMO that you had twins coming, but it’s so much better to be able to read about it all from you!
    I LOVE the diaper bag and am thrilled that you are going to try induced lactation. My IM really loved that experience!!

    You did the right thing walking away and trying to keep things on track mentally. It’s wonderful to hear that most of the experience was wonderful!

    Reply
  • 9. Sara  |  November 22, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Love your blog! I can’t wait to follow your pregnancy & listen closely as you induce lactation. I hope to be doing similar things in the coming year.

    Reply
  • 10. Jamie  |  November 22, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    BRU IS and evil, evil place. It’s a shame it is the only one stop shopping place here for baby stuff. The employees are even unhappy to be there.

    I am glad it was a good day overall!

    Reply
  • 11. FET Accompli  |  November 28, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Agreed that BRU is pretty evil! I am so glad you had a great experience at Pottery Barn kids. Can’t wait for you to come over and see our set up and get some ideas 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Amanda  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Gosh, I can’t say I ever really experienced anything at BRU except well, everyone is pushy, not just in the baby section, but everywhere…kinda like Walmart too. Then again I don’t really go there all that often…but it seems there are several people that think that BRU is terrible.

    Unfortunately it’s the one stop shop for kids toys and stuff and with time being fleeting for me, well it’s kinda where I go. Otherwise I would boycott it, and actually do around the holiday season. Ever been to the Lego/Barbie section at xmas? Oh, so not fun.

    I’m glad you were able to put all that aside though and enjoy your baby shopping. Must feel so good to be able to do that and just relish in preparing for babies to come. So exciting!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,488 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


