Support, Official news and Growing Boobs.

November 23, 2009 at 7:49 pm 13 comments

13 Weeks 0 Days

Support

Today I made a date to see the fabulous Ms. JB, it has been a while, and admittedly the first time I met JB I was nervous. Why would I be nervous to meet such a wonderful woman? You see, I had a very traumatic experience the last time I reached out for in-person support.

Back when we lived in Montreal I went to an infertility support group sponsored by IAAC which is like RESOLVE but in Canada. Funny, I went for support and felt worse afterwards, like not only am I infertile, I’m not a “worthy infertile” because I was under 30. You see the woman running the group was unique aka bitter and should not be involved in any kind of human interaction yet alone lead a support group. Whenever I raised my concerns or told them about my infertility I was told “yeah but your so young, you’ve got nothing to worry about”.

That was meeting one.

But, I was down and really really really needed in person support. So believe it or not I went back again for another beating meeting. This time the other couple there were really nice and friendly, but, the person running the group was again,  mean. She actually asked “is this past your bed time” (it was 8pm).  She also gave this long speech about “not expecting having a baby to improve your marriage – if he’s not supportive now he never will be etc etc, while staring at me (being the only person there that was alone)”. Yes, my husband is not with me, that’s because he’s working, bitch.

Anyhow, that was my horrid awful infertility support group experience. Never again will I go to an infertility support group.

Sorry, tangent there. Anyhow, given my last “in person infertile experience” I was nervous when I met JB. Would she be mean and cruel or stay true to her blog form? Thankfully I can report she was wonderful! And I’m excited about getting to hang out with her again soon!

Official News

Today I got an email from the Clinic that said “We received the results from the 12 week ultra sound report and everything looks great”!!! YEA! Great to hear it officially from the doctor as the first OB appointment is not for another few weeks. Even though I have not seen them in a month, knowing that they are growing and happy (of course they’re happy they are safe with M!) makes me feel great.

Growing Boobs

AKA Lactation induction. I started the complete protocol last week, we start off slow with the BCP and Dom 1 pill 4 times a day, then this Wednesday I increase to 2 pills 4 times a day then I increase to 3 pills 3 times a day! Not  many women out there are blogging about inducing lactation, so you will be getting the nitty gritty details so other IMs can know what to expect. The big decision this week is what pump should I get? We need a hospital grade breast pump which are UNBELIEVABLY expensive to buy new (over 1K!) and CRAZY to rent too, so we are looking at used on ebay. Here is where my question comes in – any other IMs out there inducing lactation? What pump did you use and were you happy with it?

Right now we are looking at the Medela lactina:

OR the Ameda Elite

Such big decisions to make (and oh my god these things look like they are about to milk a cow!!).

Entry filed under: Inducing Lactation. Tags: , , .

Firsts. The pigs cometh

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JellyBelly  |  November 23, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    You just made me blush!!!!

    I’m so lucky to have a fellow infertile close by. I can’t wait to hang out!!! No feel-me-sorries this weekend!

    Congrats on getting the great news from the clinic! I’m so excited for you!

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah @ whentwobecomesthree  |  November 23, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Yay for perfect little babes! Just amazing news!

    Have fun with JB!

    No advise regarding the pump but I just know that you are going to kick butt at bf’ing!!!

    Reply
  • 3. My Reality  |  November 23, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    JB rocks, doesn’t she?

    Glad the news from the clinic was good!

    Reply
  • 4. g  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Hoping the lactation induction works to plan, and yes, the pumps do make one feel like moo-ing.

    g

    Reply
  • 5. Sara  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Have you looked into the Symphony? I’ve heard great things about it & it’s the pump I plan to get when I induce. I also will get the PIS to have on hand for pumping when I need something more portable once my supply is established. I can’t wait to read all about you inducing, I’ll be living vicariously through you until I get this moment of my own!

    Reply
  • 6. Niki  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    I’m so happy to hear that your 12wk scan results were perfect! 🙂 I used the Medela lactina when I was pumping for Myles and thought it was fine. I’ll either rent that or the Symphony. I am in the process of getting my gyn (K’s ob) to write me a script for it, so my insurance company will hopefully pay for the rental costs. I’ll start pumping in about a month (OMG … I’m pumping in a month!), so I’ll let you know my thoughts. Best wishes to you my dear friend!

    Reply
  • 7. Cyn  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Have you checked out the asklenore.com website? The protocol is on there as well as forums for you to ask questions. My IM and I found it to be very useful our first time through.

    My IM used the Medela PISAdvanced. It’s one of the pumps recommended by Lenore. We wondered a little bit whether she would’ve had better results if she’d used a hospital grade, but chose to use the same pump for the 2nd twins as well.
    I used the Medela Symphony for the first month after the birth of the 2nd twins and then used my PISA for the remaining 8 months.

    If you’re planning to get a PIS for use at some point, I would skip straight to the Pump In Style Advanced. I think you’ll get better results than with the PIS.

    Given your choices I would go with the Lactina, but that’s just because I prefer Medela and the parts can be used with the PISA as well.

    If it was me though, I would buy a PISA and I’d rent the Symphony for a month, try them both out, see how you feel about the two. You may not notice much difference in performance. I felt that the Symphony was quieter and a bit gentler.

    Many people use the PISA though rather than an actual hospital grade. Pump preference really comes down to preference in the end.

    Check out the asklenore.com site and see what others are currently saying about pump preference for induction.

    Reply
  • 8. Denise  |  November 23, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    What a horrible experience with that support group! Yikes!

    I’m so excited to hear about the lactation induction. I hope it goes well for you. I rented a Medela Symphony and while it is pretty pricy, it really did the trick. I didn’t know how long I could keep up with the nursing/pumping routine, so I didn’t want to invest in buying a pump. I ended up renting it for 4 months. It is the same pump that the hospital we delivered at gives to new mothers, so I knew it worked well.

    Oh, and about your question on my last post, the HSG was painful for me because I have a “twisty” cervix. IUI’s were also painful for me and some of the transfers too.

    Reply
  • 9. Mark  |  November 24, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    HI Ducks

    Tayleigh has a new blog and if yo want to continue following her life can you email me and i add you?!?! Its private for now!!

    wow…under 190 days to go!!! watch out…she’ll be here before you know it!!!
    (Note – edited by the duck to remove your email addy)

    Reply
  • 10. Karma  |  November 24, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Great news that everything is going so well : )
    I induced lactation and then successfully breastfed (with some supplementation) for 8 months – wrote a lot about it on my blog if you’re interested in some tips (ie. get a hands free pumping bra…that was the absolute best investment!)
    I used a medela double electric pump which worked just fine. I think any of the double electric ones should do the trick. Good luck – it’s a big commitment, the lactation induction, but I’m glad I did it.

    Reply
  • 11. Karma  |  November 24, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    I also had appts at the Newman clinic for once Addie was here (that was helpful in some ways and not so much in others…but that’s another story) and spent a lot of time on the asklenore.com site. Great site for info!

    Reply
  • 12. Amanda  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:53 am

    Hey there, good for you for inducing lactation..it’s a long time consuming process but will be well worth it in the end. When I had to induce my lactation…I dried up and then re-induced to be able to donate it, I used this pump.

    It seriously looks like a backpack, is portable, can be battery operated and has a car jack, a little cooler, etc. and all comes in one handy looking black backpack. It cost me about $200? or so, can’t really remember now. Anyway a friend is using mine now, its a double pump so you can become a real cow and do both boobsd at the same time. I loved that feature. And I found it strong, with many levels of intensity just like a hospital pump.

    Well worth it! And now thousands of dollars. Good luck

    http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/products/breast-pumps/351/pump-in-style-advanced-breastpump-backpack-2008

    Reply
  • 13. Amanda  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:54 am

    OOppps, I meant to say not thousands of dollars…okay time for me to seriously go to bed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,535 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


