15 weeks

December 7, 2009 at 3:24 pm 6 comments

15 week 0 days


Today marks the week of the navel orange. Apparently our 2 little ones have graduated from being lemons to oranges!

Moving up the citris ladder.

This week is also the first OB appointment week! So exciting, even though I don’t get to go(the doctors still have me on a tight leash) and MR Duck will be traveling again (no i did not marry a travelling salesman but sometimes it does feel that way) so sadly M will be on her own. Sad for us, but, I know that M will give up a full update on Wednesday night of all the happenings at the OB! It’s also the very first appointment, which are super hard to get with this OB so the rest will hopefully be at the end of the day so at least Mr. can go (and maybe even me!). It feels like FOREVER since we have had any doctor contact ( 6 weeks is forever in my world).

The one thing I did learn this week from my blogging-buddy Sarah (thanks!!), is that the 18-20 week scan can be done on the weekends! How exciting that Mr and I will be able to go!! Also such a relief, I hate the idea of sending M all by herself to these things, that anything that can be done after 5pm  or on weekends the better for everyone!

Questions for the experts… yeah that’s you!

What do they usually do at first OB appointments anyway? Would someone like to share with the pregnancy ignorent?

And how does it all work for surrogacy – will they need me and Mr duck’s medical history?After all that will have a large impact on the babies health….

What about frequency – how often do women have to go to OBs? And twin factor – does that increase the time?

More Diapers

I recently won 3 bids on 3 sets of New in packaging diapers off ebay. Yes, I know it’s early to start gathering items, but, with twins and infertility we want to save every way we can, so through winning these ebay auctions I just made some BIG savings (I love saving, really I’m one of those people that clips as uses coupons).

Entry filed under: Second Trimester. Tags: .

Who am I? Mr Breast Pumps big american adventure.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Reality  |  December 7, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I can give you the brief rundown for my OB experience – for a singleton. I saw the OB monthly until 24 weeks, then it was bi-weekly until 36. I now go weekly. Usually, you go monthly until 28 weeks, but my blood pressure was up so I needed the extra monitoring. I am sure with twins, there will be more monitoring. The first appointment was mostly just a history – and hearing the heartbeat!

    I was able to record the heartbeat with my phone. Maybe M can record them for you, as well.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  December 7, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    Yes – the Dr. did want to know our families medical history right up to the grandparents ailments. So maybe send a list with M? I wish that your bosses weren’t such p*@%&^!

    Happy 15 weeks! Gosh you guys are getting close!

    You may have to call around to various u/s places to find one that is open on Sat. But they are out there. Hoping you get a good tech who will let you watch. I didn’t get that priviledge. I had this woman who could have been Demitri’s sister who didn’t understand that it was a surrogacy. But we did get a peek at our liitle babe for the last 5 minutes. It was better than nothing!

    Reply
  • 3. Sara  |  December 7, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I have no pregnancy/OB advise…haven’t been there done that yet! But, I’m with you on the coupons! I love couponing! It’s a newly found addiction, thanks to an episode on Oprah in October ’08. I’m hooked! Do share your baby saving deals, it’s never too early for me to start buying baby items 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Jamie  |  December 7, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    I visited my OB every month until 30 weeks, then every two weeks until 36 weeks and then every week.

    My visits went like this: Pee in cup, check blood pressure, heart rate and temp, listen to heartbeat with Doppler, doc would ask if I was having any problems and then I was on my way. It would take me longer to find a parking space than the amount of time I actually spent in the office. She didn’t start checking my cervix until week 37 but I’m sure those things will start much faster for twins.

    And diapers for twins? It’s never too early . . .

    Reply
  • 5. Denise  |  December 8, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Let’s see, first appointment we just saw a nurse. Talked, I think she did an internal exam and maybe listened to heart beats? I can’t really remember. All I remember is being disappointed that they wouldn’t do an ultrasound (I was so used to those with the RE). I think initially I saw the OB monthly, which consisted of listening to heart beats, measuring belly, pee check (for sugar in urine), blood pressure, pulse and talk about any questions I had. I would have to go back and read my old blog, but at some point fairly early on, we moved to seeing the OB every other week. And then there were ultrasounds every 4 weeks (so every other OB appointment). By the time I was scheduled to move to weekly appointments (which was earlier than with a singleton), I think I might have already been there because of how much I was contracting.

    Reply
  • 6. MEG.  |  December 8, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I cannot believe how fast the time has passed! Your babies are the size of a rather large piece of fruit! Amazing. =)

    I’m with Sarah — your boss makes me so flippin’ angry. How dare he rob you of these moments. Bah. I hope you’re able to work out something with your schedule, so you’re able to see much more of the babes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,488 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


