Restless

December 30, 2009 at 1:32 pm 8 comments

18 Weeks 2 days

I am feeling restless.

A certain sense of a need for change.

There is something about me, something a little big hobo-like in that when ever I am in a job, after about 9 months, I feel that certain sense of restlessness, the need for change.

And I must admit, I am feeling very restless in this job.

I miss television, I miss the excitement, I miss the intrigue.

I miss all of it (except the crazy people, I don’t miss them).

My career is just so painfully numbingly boring.

I am a glorified secretary, I write minutes (endless minutes that never ever seem to get to the point) I arrange meetings, I order catering.

I am a secretary, and I despise it.

I did not suffer through a decade (yes, a bloody decade – 2 degrees, a second language and a post grad diploma) of university so I could be a freaking secretary.

Yet, here I am, a very boring secretary with fantasies of winning the lottery.

Entry filed under: Second Trimester. Tags: , .

Telling. Being Involved.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cyn  |  December 30, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Surely there was something that appealed to you about this position when you took it? Unless it just didn’t pan out as advertised, in which case maybe you need to start looking again? It’s probably not the best time to ‘start over’ but at the same time, it’s really hard to leave your kids to go spend 9 hours doing something that you really hate. At some point, most people have to make the ‘big jump’ to actually end up doing something that they LOVE (and if you have to go every day, you should LOVE it-or at least like it quite a bit).

    If there is no silver lining to this position, then?

    Reply
    • 2. thecanadianduck  |  December 30, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      Yup I get paid, that is the only thing that appeals to me. I have no intention of going back to this job once I take maternity leave (we get 9 months here of unemployment insurance) so I wont be changing jobs right now, will just wait it out until after the babies are born!

      Reply
  • 3. JellyBelly  |  December 30, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Before I changed schools I felt like I spent my days twiddling my thumbs on auto-pilot. It became painfully obvious that a maternity-leave break wasn’t going to happen so I had to get out.

    I’m so sorry that you’re having such a sh*tty time at work. Just think, when the babies come you won’t have time to think about work anymore!

    Reply
  • 4. VA Blondie  |  December 30, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I am sorry you are feeling restless and dissatisfied. At least you have a definite deadline. (And nine months of leave! I am insanely jealous!)

    Reply
  • 5. Denise  |  December 30, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    You might feel differently after the babies come (or you might not). My feelings towards work changed a bit, but not as much as I expected. I’m still as driven as I ever was, but I have to temper it with knowing that if I push too hard, it will compromise my time with the kids. It is a hard place to live in.

    I can understand that need for change, but your life is about to change BIG TIME in a few months. If you truly hate the job, what is the harm in looking around? A happy mommy is a good mommy, whatever it is that makes her happy.

    Reply
  • 6. Jamie  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    I get that same restless feeling. I’ve been at my current job for twice what my ‘happy’ period is and it’s killing me.

    Gawd, I HATE taking minutes!!

    Reply
  • 7. Emily  |  January 1, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    Ummm did you sneak into my brain and steal this post? (Ok aside from all your academic achievements because I am so not patient enough for that shit!)

    I hate that my job is a glorified secretary and although people keep telling me how much children would change my mind it hasn’t really – I don’t really want to do something I hate that will take me away from Little Miss for so long. Now I just need to figure out how to make a lot of money without working too many days!

    Reply
  • 8. Amanda  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I hope that once your on mat leave it will all be worth it, your role will change and your new job will be the most amazing one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,535 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


