Bye bye single digit, hello double

December 31, 2009 at 11:06 am 5 comments

18 weeks 3 days

Yes, we are now saying farewell to the single digit years and thank god you are finally here hello to 2010.

When I was 16 I wrote a list of things I wanted to achieve and deadlines for when they had to be completed.

On the list are items that I have achieved (finished my Bac, learned French, worked for the CBC, lived in 4 out of the 10 Canadian Provinces, including that cute little french province, got married to an amazing man, owned a house – well we are on our third house so I sorta over achieved in that category).

And those that I have not finished, but still have time.

Including having 2 children. I wanted 2 children before I was 32, so I needed these kids before October 2010. AND g-d willing, knock on wood and do every kind of superstitious act possible, this should happen in May.

The only other major item on my list is to complete my Masters (I gave myself till I was 35), there’s still time. And complete my Phd (I gave myself till I was 40, very reasonable me thinks). Now, I just need to figure out what I should actually study…

And I am happy to report that the only item on my list where I missed my deadline was visiting Europe before I turned 30.  And, that’s not such a big deal, so what I have nothing to say when people discuss the merits of various European destinations. 

I am okay with it, I choose fertility treatments over vacations. And I will never regret that.

Entry filed under: Second Trimester. Tags: .

Being Involved. A great start to a new year

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JellyBelly  |  December 31, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    I admire all of the things that you’ve accomplished. I’m still holding out hope that the CBC will magically discover me while teaching my class (pipe dream, I know, but one can dream!).

    You’re going to achieve the biggest and most important goal this coming year. I’m so excited for you and for the adventure that your twins are going to bring you and Mr. Duck!

    Europe isn’t going anywhere Duck, so don’t worry! There are many kid-friendly places to visit so if you need any tips, just ask!

    Happy New Year, my friend!

    Reply
  • 2. MEG.  |  December 31, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Happy New Year, Duck! I have a feeling that 2010 will be one of the happiest, most fulfilling years of your life.

    You’ve already accomplished so much, though! Kudos to you. =)

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah @ whentwobecomesthree  |  December 31, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Europe is pale and dull compared to two rosy cheeked bouncing bambinos! Once they arrive, you will find that European convo incredibly dull and find that you can discuss nothing besides baby x 2.

    Happy New Year to you and I wish that time speeds for you and slows down for me!

    Cheers!

    Reply
  • 4. Allison  |  December 31, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Happy New Year!! I love your list of things to accomplish and although it’s I’m sure been tough getting to some of these, you are doing it. Those babies will be in your arms before you know it. Tomorrow officially is the year of your babies! Yeah.

    Reply
  • 5. Jamie  |  December 31, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    I congratulate you on all of your accomplishments – it is quite a bit!! Those babies will be well worth anything that didn’t get crossed off the list.

    Happy 2010!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,488 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


