And that’s where I burst into tears.

January 6, 2010 at 10:04 pm 18 comments

19 weeks 2 days

Let me begin with the babies are okay and kicking (well at least she is, and I got to feel her kick!).

But, I still cried at the OB appointment.

The OB is a fabulously nice woman, and I loved meeting her.

The ultra sound scan showed complete placenta previa (the tech showed us a maginal placneta previa).

We are now considered a high risk pregnancy and are being referred to a high risk OB in the big city

M is now off work and on partial bed rest (a whole lot of sitting around and gestating, god bless her).

I cried at the OB appointment, I cried because I’m scared for the babies, and I am scared for M.

I cried for 25 minutes on the Go train home, thankfully the train into the city was empty (not that it would have stopped me, when a duck needs to cry, she cries).

Of course, I am worried, even though I try not to be, I am comforted that the babies are with M and that she will take such good care of them, but, of course, I worry about them, I worry about her.

I just want everything to be okay.

Entry filed under: Second Trimester. Tags: , , , .

From Sweet Potato to Mango Preparations

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Denise  |  January 6, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Uggh, generally people consider a twin pregnancy itself to be high risk even without other concerns. Do they think there is still a chance for the previa to correct itself?

    Thinking about you all and hoping for the best.

    Reply
  • 2. maria  |  January 7, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Ugh, I really wish you and M didn’t have to deal with this worry! I hope the placenta corrects itself.

    Thinking of you!!

    Reply
  • 3. MEG.  |  January 7, 2010 at 12:51 am

    Oh Duck. =( I’m so, so sorry about this news. I know how incredibly stressful this must be for you (and for M!).

    Just remember that M is a pro! She will do whatever it takes to keep your babes safe.

    Keep us updated! *hugs*

    Reply
  • 4. g  |  January 7, 2010 at 1:25 am

    Sorry to hear about the high grade previa, that’s pretty likely to stay.

    I’m most sorry because it makes things higher risk, but importantly also changes the plans made and things your GS can do now. That must feel bad for YOU, too.

    g

    Reply
  • 5. strongwoman  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:33 am

    I am so, so sorry! You have every right to be sad and frightened. After everything you’ve been through, you deserved a stressfree pregnancy. I’m sure having M on bedrest only adds to your frustration as you worry about the risks and inconvenience to her. I wish things could be different for you now.

    Reply
  • 6. Sarah  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Why does there have to be blips? Why can’t everything just be perfect?

    I am sorry for you and M but I KNOW that everything is going to be ok. Mi is strong and in awesome shape and she wants this for you SO bad. I know it probably seems like this next part of the pregnancy is going to go on forever but it truly is such a short period of time. I am sure that M feels like she will do whatever it takes to get these babies here.

    Having a baby through surrogacy is so hard but stay strong. I

    Reply
  • 7. VA Blondie  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:52 am

    I am so sorry. I know your GS will take good care of the little ones, though.

    Reply
  • 8. Kim  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:54 am

    You know where I am if you want to bend someone’s ear honey. Thinking of all of you.

    K xxxxx

    Reply
  • 9. susy  |  January 7, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Oh man! 😦 hope the placenta(s) don’t cause too much of a complication. Even though scary, a high risk doctor will be able to help you and M through this. Thinking of all of you!

    Reply
  • 10. Jamie  |  January 7, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    You worry and you cry because you are a Mom! I am learning it comes with the territory.

    I hope the placenta previa doesn’t cause too many problems. I like the sound of M and I know she will do everything possible to keep your babies safe.

    Reply
  • 11. jaymee  |  January 7, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    so sorry to return to this news. you all are in my thoughts. hugs.

    Reply
  • 12. sara  |  January 7, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I’m sorry sweetie 😦 I’m sure M will guard those babies with her life and take such great care of them. You’re a mommy now…you’ll never stop worrying! (((hugs)))

    Reply
  • 13. JellyBelly  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    I’m so sorry Duck. I hope and pray that M and the babies will be okay.

    Sending you big, big hugs!

    Reply
  • 14. Emily  |  January 7, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Oh duck – big hugs.

    First off – welcome to motherhood – you cried because your heart has grown bigger with this pregnancy and with that bigger heart comes bigger heartache.

    Try to think of it this way – you are going to have the absolutely best care you can have and its good this has been discovered now rather than when it was too late.

    I know your GS will do everything she can (which is really resting up now isn’t it?) and as twins are usually delivered early you’re past the halfway point! That is all kinds of goodness! xoxo

    Reply
  • 15. sonja  |  January 9, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    I hope this offers some comfort: My mother had placenta previa with my little sister. She was on minimal bedrest from what I understand, and my sister was born only 2.5 weeks early at healthy 6+ pounds. She is now 21 and smart as a whip.

    I know sometimes hearing stories like that is just kind of pointless but I felt like I should share it in case it provides some comfort.

    You’re in my thoughts.

    (LFCA)

    Reply
  • 16. Amanda  |  January 9, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I’m sorry to hear there has been this bump….I hate the bumps, it’s so not fair sometimes. BUT, having twins does double the chance of bumps, and well as far as bumps go, placenta previa is not as bad as some things. It’s hard, cause your so worried about the babies and M, and you just want to have an easy pregnancy with as little worry as possible.

    I’m sorry you have to go through this.

    On a side note, I know of several girls who’ve had PP, including my own sister and all has turned out just fine. Keep the faith and hang in there. Hugs

    Reply
  • 17. FET Accompli  |  January 12, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Sending hugs. When we were also a high risk pregnancy, one positive point was that we knew we were referred to a great hospital and really getting the best care.

    Reply
  • 18. annacyclopedia  |  January 14, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    I just found out about the previa on LFCA. It is really scary, but I hope that knowing so many cases where it works out just fina and everyone is safe and sound gives you comfort and hope.

    Thinking of you even if I’m not commenting much these days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,488 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


