Twin Room Planning.

January 14, 2010 at 1:58 pm 15 comments

20 weeks 3 days

We are very much in the planning stage of the twin’s bedroom. While we want it to be  a bright and fun nursery, it also has to be a room that they can live in for a few years (yes, they will be sharing – we live in a 2 +1 bedroom house, so until 1 of them is old enough to live in the basement, they will both be living upstairs!).

Mr. Duck has done most of the prep work and thus far has painted a small desk blue (we found this desk in Montreal on July 1 moving day, and we are converting it to a double change table) and a small bureau (an antique that we found on a different July 1 moving day that was bepto bismal pink – now it’s a lovely sand). Yes we pick up furniture on the side of the road, why buy somethine new when we can save something from a landfill?

We (I mean, Mr. Duck) has painted their room a colour very close to the colour in this picture:

I also really like these cute little elephants, but I seem to be torn between so many options for bedding/motifs like these:

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

Lots to choose from and every day I lean a different way, today I really like the last one, but, who knows what tomorrow will bring.

Anyone have a favourite?

Entry filed under: Second Trimester. Tags: , .

Not a whole lot to say Worry much?

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. peesticksandstones  |  January 14, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    They sure do make some cute stuff these days. I think when I was a baby it was all just Winnie the Pooh or nothing.

    That last one — the giraffes — really caught my eye the most. Those bold contrasty colors are something a baby would really enjoy looking at… even when they’re really tiny.

    Monkeys and elephants are everywhere, but the giraffe motif is pretty unique. I recently saw some hippo stuff, too, on the Ohdeedoh website.

    Reply
  • 2. Kim  |  January 14, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Keep it plain and very changeable. We spent a fortune on Jakes nursery and cotbed and within a year he was in a toddler bed and begging for a Tweenies bedroom. A year later it was Lightening Mcqueen, then power rangers, then spiderman and now he’s onto Transformers. We just keep it plain colour on the walls and change the bedding and curtains!

    Reply
  • 3. JellyBelly  |  January 14, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the monkeys!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Miss Tori  |  January 14, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    I love the cradle in the sweet lambie picture (2nd to last). Not crazy about the wall painting, but love the cradle.

    Reply
  • 5. VA Blondie  |  January 14, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Personally, I am a little partial to the elephants. But they are rather popular right now. I cannot wait to see what you decide on!

    Reply
  • 6. Bec  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I am sooo in love with the tree and birds!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Sarah  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Gosh I love them all! You cannot make a wrong choice!

    Reply
  • 8. MEG.  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Ok, I’m totally drooling over all these designs…..especially the last 2! The second to last one seems like it may be possible to pull off with affordable wall decals…..but man, I love the giraffes as well! =)

    And to answer your question on my blog: No, you didn’t miss my “Surprise! We have a GS!” entry. Our plan is to create as many kick-ass embyos as we can right now (while I’m still “young”), have those vitrified, and then bring them out of their frozen sleep within the next year or two (once we’re able to save up enough $ for a GS).

    Reply
  • 9. Nadeen  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I like the first one and the last one! We are going with a critter/bug theme, think frogs, turtles, bees, snails, etc. Green and blue mostly with some brown and yellow. I am not feeling the need to have a matching set so hopefully it all comes together!

    Reply
  • 10. Susy  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Love the direction you’re taking this, whichever you choose will be great! Or you might go w/ a whole different one that you didn’t show us! I love the monkeys and the one under that one. I saw that one AFTER I had done the twins’ room and I loved it too. Do you have a preferred furniture color?

    Reply
  • 11. chicklet  |  January 15, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    You are totally looking at the same stuff I did. I like the elephants at the top – I’m a green fan:-). I ended up going with the other elephant for a blanket, and mixing and matching other stuff, but I totallyl love the elephant stuff.

    So much fun!!

    Reply
  • 12. Jamie  |  January 15, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    I really like the green and brown monkey and elephant sets.

    Skeeter has a lot of wild animals on his crib set/decor and I love to watch him look around and study all of his animals!

    Reply
  • 13. FET Accompli  |  January 16, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Gorgeous photos – I love them all, but the second to last one is probably my fave.

    Reply
  • 14. Amanda  |  January 17, 2010 at 4:19 am

    I love them all too, they are all very modern and fresh. I do like the last one, it’s gotta a certain feel to it that I like.

    Reply
  • 15. Cyn  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:19 am

    LOVE the last one! Such a statement!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,570 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


