2010 Goals

January 20, 2010 at 3:30 pm 11 comments

21 Weeks 2 days

I know it is a little late for the standard 2010 Resolution Post and I really am more of a GOAL person then a resolution person.

2010 Goals for a Better Duck

1. Shrink my Environmental Foot Print

I am not a wild eyed environmentalist, but, if I was a whealthy person I would generate all my own electricity, eat only local organic foods and walk everywhere (possible only  because I would have lots of time as I would not have to work).

But, I am not independently whealthy, so it is the little things for us, I don’t want our babies environmental footprint to be a giant crater so we will apply those age old 3 Rs, reduce, resuse, recycle. We are cloth dipering (we have a high efficiency, low water use washer so it will have a positive environmental impact) and we will NOT be a house with 10 000 toys plastic toys from china, seriously kids can only play with so many toys at a time (many of them hopefully comming from the neighbours so we can re-use their old toys). Once the babies outgrow something it will be given to goodwill to be reused!

2. Be Creative

For most of my life I was a very creative person (I used to Act, Dance, Paint, play the piano and guitar). Now, the only creative avenue I have is this blog, and as lovely as it is, it’s just not the same. So in an effort to revive my creative juices I purchased 3 canvases today and I will be painting art for the nursery!

 3. Drop the Gluten

 I know in order to officially be diagnosed with CD I need blood work and an endoscopy, but, if you recall my work is not so understanding about me taking time off (they are still arses by the way) so I can not make appointments with doctors for blood work and endoscopies. Seeing as though I do have the majority of the symptoms, and the only treatment is quitting gluten I am *trying* to quit gluten. But it’s not easy. I am not some sorta carb-a-holic but there is something about no gluten that my body seems to be trying to fight. I dream of bread, hot rich sourdough bread straight from the bakery. But, I must say the days in a row I am strong and do manage to avoid gluten I feel so very much better.

 4. Exercise

 In the winter I want so desperately to hibernate. Most days the only exercise I get is the 5 kilometre walk as part of my daily commute. And that just does not cut it. I feel sluggish (and the lactation induction protocol is not helping here – I seem to be always hungry on the protocol!). So, I am trying to amp up the exercise by taking our little dog for a 4 kilometre walk in the night. Not exactly my summer time 10 K a day, but it will have to do.

Entry filed under: Second Trimester, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Banana What kind of a mother are you?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  January 20, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    LOVE the idea of using cloth diapers. I look forward to your feedback. Also, your bosses suck – ALOT. Hang in there chickee. You’re way past half way now!!!

    Reply
  • 2. MEG.  |  January 20, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    I love these goals!

    I’m with ya on the no gluten thing. I haven’t been “officially” diagnosed either, but I fell within the equivocal range on my most recent celiac panel blood test (i.e. I don’t have Celiac, but there’s *something* going on with the gluten). It’s so hard to avoid, but we’ve found some really tasty quinoa pasta, and we try to stick to rice. But I hear ya on the bread. Why does it have to be so tasty?

    Oh! And I really hope you post pictures of your nursery paintings once they’re complete!

    Reply
  • 3. TABI  |  January 20, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Never too late to have resolutions! Love that you are getting creative and breaking out the canvases. I also plan on trying to exercise and keep my body strong as possible.

    Reply
  • 4. JellyBelly  |  January 20, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    You can totally go gluten free!!! I’m already allergic to so many things and I thought that going GF would mean starvation, but I’m so happy that I did it. My skin is better. My belly is better and I’ve lost weight! It’s a win-win situation really.

    🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Jamie  |  January 20, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Something about getting it down on paper (or the computer screen) feels good, doesn’t it?

    Good luck with your goals!

    Reply
  • 6. Meagan Francis  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Love that you didn’t just set goals but actually took some steps toward achieving them. Good for you! And I’m with you on the toy thing. Clara, my youngest, is 10 months old and has something like five toys. She just doesn’t NEED more, especially when the world is full of other interesting things (pots and pans, spoons, etc) for her to play with.

    Reply
  • 7. Bec  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Good goals hon. I too prefer goals to resolutions, and a couple of mine are the same as yours – get creative (I want to take a pottery class and do some sewing, and maaayyybbee even take up piano lessons again), exercise (doing my triathlon) and environment (ride my bike for short distance trips). I think we are on the right path!

    Reply
  • 8. JJ  |  January 21, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Cant believe you are half way there! SO exciting 🙂 Love your 2010 goals!

    Reply
  • 9. FET Accompli  |  January 21, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    These are solid, realistic yet challenging goals. I like them!! And I didn’t know that you have all these talents – acting, dancing, painting and playing the piano and guitar. I used to enjoy improv a lot – and I even did it as a grown-up (but stopped a while ago – gee whiz, many years ago now…)

    Reply
  • 10. Melanie  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Duck! I wondered if that was you when I read Tabi’s blog…I’m so pleased to hear from you and thrilled about your twins. What wonderful, wonderful news! Glad you’re back

    Reply
  • 11. Amanda  |  January 23, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Great goals, I hope it helps you feel positive about life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,617 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


