The grateful and the annoying

January 26, 2010 at 12:59 pm 5 comments

22 weeks 1 day

 As we move further into this pregnancy, Mr. Duck and I are filled with a continuous feeling of gratitude.

 Having any complications in a surrogacy pregnancy can be stressful to everyone, to the IPs who just want everyone to be healthy, and the surrogate, who have to suffer out the bed rest, and the surrogate’s family who have to pitch in to help out their mom.

 I can not imagine that it is easy on anyone, and yet again it is one of the reasons that IPs are amazed at the women who carry our children. Imagine, our dreams get to come true, if it wasn’t for M and her family, we would not be waiting with great anticipation for our children.

 We are, and always will be, eternally grateful.

 And now for the annoying.

 I can not go to the much anticipated, ever so very much looking forward to appointment on Feb 1 because the doctors have scheduled a meeting at the exact same time as the OB appointment.

While yes, I could tell them to go to hell and risk loosing my job, I also can’t do that because I simply can not afford to be unemployed in this recession.

So there it is, yet again, I have to go without experiencing the fun anticipated appointments so that I can keep bringing in my little family contribution.

I am comforted that Mr can go this time (he has juggled work stuff now for over a month planning on this appointment).

Ugh.

At least the high risk OB is right across the street from my work and I will be able to go to that, unless for some reason the doctors screw me again…

Entry filed under: Second Trimester. Tags: , , , .

Mondays are my favorite Fax mishap or why Mr. Duck rocks – Updated

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susy  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Oh no!! 😦 Maybe Mr. Duck can sneak in some video on his phone so you can see it when you get home?

    Reply
  • 2. Sunny  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    First, congrats on 22 weeks!! You are getting up there now!!

    But I’m sorry about the appointment. 😦 I can’t imagine what that would feel like, I do take for granted that nothing happens without me. If it doesn’t work out for the next appointment, I would definitely talk to the doctors about it.

    Reply
  • 3. Jamie  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    I am so, so sorry. Damn doctors!! Hang in there Duck. The sacrifices will be so worth it. And honestly, they’ll be quickly forgotten once the babies are here.

    Reply
  • 4. MEG.  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Oh Duck! I am furious over the fact that The Doctors have dashed your hopes, yet again. I agree with Suzy — see if there’s any way Mr. Duck can video tape the u/s! — Still, I know it won’t be the same as being there in person. I’m so sorry. =(

    And yes, M, as well as all surrogates are AMAZING. It’s just such a selfless, nobel gift.

    Reply
  • 5. Sarah @ whentwobecomesthree  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    Ugh. Ugh. Ugh. Sorry that you can’t be there Duck. But Mr. is the next best thing. Hang in there. 22 weeks is getting close.

    Surrogacy cannot be entered into lightly and that’s what makes me angry when people pass judgement on it. It takes guts and sacrifice on both sides. You all are doing great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,570 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


