Learning to Parent

January 29, 2010 at 3:06 pm 12 comments

22 weeks 4days

It may seem odd to some, but, Mr. and I well we are very much readers and learners. I know many a parent did not crack a parenting book before becoming a parent, and are fabulous parents, but for us, reading is a key to comfort.

As part of my personality I want to read everything possible on parenting and children. Because I studied psychology for 5 years at Uni I have the basics of learning and the fundamentals of reinforcement theory, but, I still feel like it is beneficial to read, and read from all kinds of experts, everything from how to change a diaper to how to ensure you raise psychologically healthy twins.

I go onto the Toronto Library website and order parenting books by the dozen. I read a lot of the same things over and over again (cook ahead, freeze food, refer to the twins by their unique names, get one on one time with the twins) and sometimes I read unique things, stuff that I think wow, I need to write that down so I don’t forget.

So I created a Word file, and every time I find something worth remembering I type it in my word file, so I have it there, the little nugget of parenting knowledge.

Recently I read this little nugget of knowledge about SIDS, apparently one of the ways to prevent SIDS is to ensure that no mold or fungus grows on the mattress by wrapping the mattress in a BebeSafe Matress Cover so that has gone onto my essential list of baby items.

So far the only thing I have on my Things Not Allowed in My House is Exercausers(as someone born with dislocated hips I look at these things and all my heart tells me they are not right).

So, what baby items can you Just Not live Without and What can Stay at Babies R Us?

Entry filed under: Second Trimester. Tags: , .

Fax mishap or why Mr. Duck rocks – Updated Preparations Continue

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandibeach  |  January 29, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Here’s a really interesting book to add to your list:

    Under Presssure – Rescuing Childhood from the Culture of Hyper-Parenting by Carl Honore

    Puts an very interesting perspective on how we grew up vs how kids grow up today.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 2. Emily  |  January 29, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    My list would be:

    LOVE:
    – Bouncy chair (godsend!)
    – Sling
    – cloth diapers
    – Muslin Swaddle cloths
    – coffee grinder (for us!)
    – Sleep sheep (white noise)
    – Happiest Baby on the Block book
    – My Peg Perego Skate stroller

    Could have lived without:
    – baby bathtub
    – Stuffed animals
    – Footless sleepers
    – Crib – but that might just be us!

    Thats for when their little.

    At 5 months we’re just starting to graduate into bigger toys and playthings.

    Reply
  • 3. My Reality  |  January 29, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    The things so far that have been lifesavers:

    -Swaddle blankets
    -Pacifer (baby likes to suck ALL the time)
    -Swing
    -Co-Sleeper in our bed – but with twins, it wouldn’t work.
    -Diaper Caddy – saved me from walking up and down stairs after the C-section.
    – Baby night gowns – they make for easy diaper changes in the middle of the night.

    All the other stuff is in K’s room and she hasn’t really been in there much. I don’t know what we will use in the coming months. The rest of the stuff, her crib included, has yet to be touched.

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah  |  January 29, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Glad you are enjoying reading all you can. Sounds like you are in full blown preparation mode.

    For me, some must have’s are:

    Sweet Kayla Change pad cover
    Angel Care monitor
    Daphne bath seat
    Lots of wash clothes but the more expensive ones as they stand the test of time
    Hooded bath towel
    Carter’s Velour fitted Crib Sheet
    Bouncy chair so you can grab a shower
    Dr. Brown’s Formula Pitcher
    Born Free Bottles (we tried 4 different kinds but these are the best for Missy B)
    Concentrated formula (Enfamil A+)
    Penaten
    Vaseline
    bathtub water thermometer
    Pull toys for stroller
    baby hats
    Gro-bags in both togs

    What I could have lived without
    Bottle warmer (Total crap)
    Soothers (hated them) but I really liked the born free and gumdrop’s
    Crappy Receiving blankets
    Baby shoes and slippers (she is a barefoot contessa)
    Crappy onsies with tiny snaps (Carter’s have the best snaps)
    Baby quilt

    I could probably think of more too. :O)

    Reply
  • 5. Sunny  |  January 30, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Oh man, that’s a tough one, I have to think back. The thing is, you never really know what your kiddo will like. For example, mine loved the Bumbo seat, he was able to be a part of the action. But I’ve heard other moms say their kids hated it. The automatic swing stands out to me as something we couldn’t do without.

    Before registering, I spent hours researching. The most helpful book by far is BABY BARGAINS. I ended up being really pleased with what we ended up with, it was worth the endless hours.

    Two other great books are Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child and Happiest Baby on the Block.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 6. g  |  January 30, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Basically? You don’t need 95 percent of the shit you see in the shops. nNwborns don’t do much.

    I do have a button linked post on my blog about exactly this 🙂

    g

    Reply
  • 7. Yvonne  |  January 30, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    I’m so glad I found you again!!! And so excited that you are expecting 🙂 Congrats!!!

    My must-to-haves are:

    1. A travel system with the snug ‘n safe that clips right into the pram, and can also clip right into the base installed in the car. It really is so worth the extra money!

    2. And even MORE importantly was my sling (baby carrier). Mine was just perfect for me – so comfy, soothing for baby and didn’t hurt my back at all. Wonderful!

    3. Angelcare Baby Monitor – gave me such peace of mind!

    As far as the other lists go there are too many things to mention but the one thing I resolutely refused to have in my house were walking rings. Just personl choice but they don’t sit right with me at all!

    xx
    Yvonne

    Reply
  • 8. Jamie  |  January 30, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    You’ve got a pretty good list going already!

    One thing I was thinking about just today – old school cloth diapers for burp cloths. I currently have a drooling, snotty baby and the cloths that are sold as ‘burp cloths’ just seem to smear the mess but the cloth diapers actually absorb it.

    Reply
  • 9. Kim  |  January 31, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Muslin squares – we still use them now for mopping up and nose bleeds (we have a lot of nose bleeds)!!
    One of those hoop things to help the baby when they are trying to sit up (although I made one)!
    Microwave steamer (took 5 minutes to steam all of our bottles)

    That’s about it really – I think we spent a lot of money on total rubbish that we used for about … well all of 5 minutes really in the grand scheme of things e.g. cotbed, travel cot, high chair etc. etc.

    Don’t buy a high chair, buy a booster travel one that you can use at home but fold up and take with you – invaluable – although in Canada you are well provided for in terms of taking kids into restaurants etc.

    Reply
  • 10. Kim  |  January 31, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Oh and I forgot the baby sleeping bags – fantastic as you know they can’t go over the top of the baby’s head and suffocate them and they are made so that they don’t get too hot. We used them until Jake was about 18 months. He soon recognised that being in his bag was sleeptime.

    The one think I wouldn’t go for is a dummy (I think you call them pacifiers) – bloody horrendous things that damage the growth of teeth and speech!!

    Reply
  • 11. Karma  |  January 31, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    I think you’ll find a lot of variation – there were things people told me I “HAD TO HAVE” that never worked for us.

    My personal must have list:
    *sleep sacks – A is still in one at 19 months
    *vibrating chair for when they’re little
    *sling and carrier (I love my babyhawk and ergo – still use both)
    *playpen (the only way I got some peace and quiet!)
    *angel care toothbrush
    *tyke light
    *highchair (but we got one that is wood and sleek – and $$$. For us we didn’t want our dining room chairs gunked up and trust me…they will be if you use a booster-type chair!)
    *jolly jumper – the original
    *The Miracle Blanket (A squirmed out of the knock offs in a heartbeat!)
    *The Hospital for Sick Kids Birth -12 months book
    *Bumbo seat (loved this!)
    *zippered sleepers with feet
    *snack trap cup

    The ‘didn’t need it, took up space in our lives’ list:
    *baby swing – she HATED it
    *bottle warmer – silly little device (never once used it)
    *buttoned sleepers – the snaps take forever!
    *cheap thermometre that took 10 seconds to read (we then bought a more expensive but so much easier to use ear therm and it’s great)
    *what I call “fussy” clothes for when they’re newborns – A wore onesies and babylegs (born in summer)
    *I personally hated the baby whisperer book – ugh.
    *our exersaucer was very important for about 4 months – it gave me another place to put her SAFELY. You’ll see soon enough what that’s all about…x2! But outside of that time frame it was useless and collected dust (and she would only stay in it for about 10 min)

    As for the SIDS thing there were two things we did: used sleepsacks to avoid blankets, and used a fan in her room. Apparently the movement of air reduces risk by a pretty big percentage (I think I remember 70%?)

    Reply
  • 12. Karma  |  January 31, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Sorry for the long list! I should have added that those aren’t just baby things – some are must haves for our toddler : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,535 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


