A post in points.

February 28, 2010 at 10:16 am 10 comments

26 weeks 6 days

  • I told my sister, and then we got on skype together and told my parents. It was great to have her support and she took the lead controlling the situation, it was just what I needed and I have no idea what I would have done without her.
  • My parents were in total shock and asked no questions at all, but, called my sister an hour later and grilled her for info, so far so good, I think.
  • I seem to have a cold, there has been one going around at work, and for some reason I am having lots of cramps, which is weird given the continuous BCP that I am taking.
  • I start pumping in 3 weeks! So very excited that I decided to induce lactation, women who can’t be pregnant miss out on so many things (the kicks, the belly rubs from husbands, the conversations about pending babies, the security of knowing that your babies are with you) and it makes me so very happy that when the babies are born I can breastfeed, I know bfing twins will not be easy, but that’s fine with me, and I am totally prepared to supplement with formula (the lact-aid arrives on Monday). I will have to write a post about it sometime in the next few weeks, because my bfing has nothing to do with breast milk, I am not one of those breastmilk crazies and am fine if the twins only get a small amount of milk, for me, it is about the bonding experience, it’s about being what (in my mind) the role of a new mother is, and that’s what I will be, a new mother.
  • Looking forward to watching the game tonight, and obviously there is no need to tell you what game I am referring to.
  • Thanks for all your comments on your last post, it helps to read that others also felt this way at this point in the pregnancy, I am looking forward to the 30 week mark when, hopefully, it will pass.
Entry filed under: Second Trimester. Tags: .

New Feelings. Radio Silence

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Soosee  |  February 28, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Yay for yoursister being there for you and that your parents are being good so far. 🙂 woo woot for inducing lactation and BFing! I wasn’t able to keep it up for long, but I agree that the bond is magical and I’m glad you’re going to give it a go! Those babies have one lovey momma!

    Reply
  • 2. Cyn  |  February 28, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    My IM was so thankful she had taken the time to induce lactation. It was an unbelievably good experience for her. She never had much milk, and certainly not enough to sustain 2 babies, but she loved having that time with them. There were several months where all she did was nurse and change diapers because she chose to feed them individually so she could have that time with each of them. That didn’t last long, as it’s hard to survive with no time to do anything, but she loved those moments and was immensely grateful that she’d tried.

    Reply
  • 3. JellyBelly  |  February 28, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    I’m so glad that your sis was able to help ease your parents into your big news. Hopefully she can keep your mom at bay!

    Yay for lactation induction! What a great way to bond with your babies!

    And we’re all pumped for the game too. I’m wearing my Team Canada t-shirt and I’m not going to yoga this afternoon so I can watch with Mr. JB. We’ve got Olympic fever!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah @ When two becomes three...  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    What a big weekend you have had! It must be a relief to know that your sister is supportive and your parents are in the know. On the risk of sounding cheesey – I am super proud of you.

    So many ways to bond with your babies – you are going to be in for a real treat.

    Reply
  • 5. Sarah @ When two becomes three...  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    P.S.

    GOLDEN GAME!

    Reply
  • 6. MEG.  |  March 1, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Duck, I’m SO glad you have the weight of telling your parents lifted from your shoulders. All in all, it sounds like a pretty positive experience, made easy with the help of your sis. I’m sure it will take your parents a little time to process all of this, and I’m SURE they’re enthusiasm will only continue to grow and grow.

    I’m super excited for your lactation induction. Positively giddy. =) I totally hear you on the bonding aspect. This is exactly why I’m adamant about inducing myself, should we succeed. GOOD LUCK!

    Oh, and the hockey game was pretty amazing. =) You have to admit, Team USA put up a pretty good fight for some damn Yankees. 😉

    Feel better!

    Reply
  • 7. Sunny  |  March 1, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    What great news — a good experience telling the parents, and all systems go on inducing lactation! I am very excited to hear about your experience with breastfeeding the twins. I hope it goes well.

    Reply
  • 8. TABI  |  March 2, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    So glad you were able to tell your family! Good luck with the lactation!!

    Reply
  • […] A post in points. […]

    Reply
  • […] A post in points. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,617 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


