Making the milk

April 7, 2010 at 1:14 pm 13 comments

32 weeks 2 days

Inducing lactation has been a big important deal for me – I wish I could describe why it matters so much, but, it honestly just does.

So, I’ve been pumping now for a few days, and while I am not over-loaded with milk (1.5 ounces per day) I am also not obsessed with the amount of milk I am making (remember – it’s not the milk – it’s about the bonding experience).  I am totally cool with feeding my babies formula (and please save the “breast is best” rant – I’m not interested in hearing it).

It’s working out so I get to pump 5-7 times a day on week days and 8 times a day on weekends, what’s odd is that pumping more often (8 times) or less often (5 times) makes no difference so far  –  I always get the same amount of milk (odd isn’t it).  I am pumping for 25-30 minutes per session, which works out to a whole LOT of my day, but, it is worth it, because when those babies are born, I simply can’t wait to have that experience with my children.

 (PS – there is a whole PILE of excitement around our house at being in the 32nd week, only 4 more weeks till we get to see the little people in PERSON!).

Entry filed under: Inducing Lactation, third trimester. Tags: , .

3-2 What’s in a name?

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Reality  |  April 7, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I think your ounce and a half is a damn good start! Your milk supply will increase with time. There are times now where I don’t get anything at all when I pump, even after 3 months of nursing/pumping. I think it is great that you are doing this!

    I really would like to hear more about the lactation induction process. How will it work once the babies are here?

    I am glad there is a pile of excitement around your house, I am getting excited for you!

    Reply
  • 2. Susy  |  April 7, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    I think you’re 1.5 oz is great! Maybe the whole ‘the more you pump, the more milk’ thing is regarding for long you’re doing it (days, weeks..) instead of times per day. I’m not too sure, just thinking out loud.

    I think it’s totally awesome that you’re doing this, and am uber-excited that you’re at 32 weeks! I’m freakin’ tearing up from the excitement that in a month, you’ll have your babies in your arms!

    As for a BF pillow, I’ve heard great things about the Nurse EZ or EZ 2 nurse pillows. I used a boppy, b/c I didn’t last very long BF’ing. And sometimes, I’d nurse and bottle feed the other, so the boppy was alright.

    xo

    Reply
  • 3. MEG.  |  April 7, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    I LOVE that you’re making milk! And, even though I’m not yet an official IM, I totally understand how important this is to you (trust me, I’m going to do everything in my power to lactate if/when the time comes!).

    Like the other ladies have said, 1.5 ounces sounds like great progress.

    I’m getting crazy goosebumps, because you’re SO CLOSE to meeting your babies! So amazing.

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah  |  April 7, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Woot Woot! Great job Milk Mama!!! So happy for you!

    Reply
  • 5. Cyn  |  April 7, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Honestly, that is an insane amount of milk for where you are!! I have tons more to say, but am sadly out of time again. I’ll try to leave the comments in the appropriate posts though-hopefully later tonight!

    Reply
  • 6. Frenchie  |  April 7, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    I’m totally impressed! And I think I can understand why the desire to bf is a big deal. When we were adopting our son, I really, really, really wanted to be able to bf. There wasn’t a lot of time to prepare and ultimately it didn’t work out. So I totally applaud you for your determination and making it work!! Oh and you won’t hear any ‘breast is best’ rant from me! My son was fed formula (obviously, since I couldn’t bf) and he is a strapping, smart, healthy, robust 3-year-old now. So whatever combination ends up working out for you I’m sure it will be GREAT!!

    Reply
  • 7. G  |  April 8, 2010 at 10:49 am

    That’s great! Besides, babies are much better than pumps at getting milk out. Hm, have you tried eating oatmeal? That worked for me – when I started pumping I got 11 ounces for my freezer stash, but then I neglected to eat balanced meals (even skipped some) and my supply started dwindling – even after eating “right” again, but I noticed that every time I ate oatmeal I had a small surplus… I experimented, and sure enough – the more oatmeal I ate, the more milk I made, hehe…

    What about using a lact-aid, or an sns? Have you looked into those?

    Reply
  • 8. Bec  |  April 8, 2010 at 11:01 am

    You are doing incredibly well – I would love to hear how you go with this as I would love to do this if we end up adopting. Slightly different kettle of fish though as you get to do this from birth.

    You have no idea how happy it makes me to come and check in on your blog and see how close you are getting to having your babies xxx

    Reply
  • 9. Kerri-Lyn  |  April 8, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Good job Duck! Can’t believe how fast time flies!!!

    Woohoo for 32+ weeks!

    XO KL

    Reply
  • 10. Mo  |  April 8, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Oh! You are getting so close!!! Wonderful that you are having success with inducing lactation. That would be very important to me too : )

    Mo

    Reply
  • 11. Me  |  April 10, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    I admire your tenacity. (As if that hasn’t been evident for a looong time now.) AND I can’t believe how *close* you are to bringing your babies home!

    Reply
  • 12. annacyclopedia  |  April 11, 2010 at 12:37 am

    I have probably said this before, but I am so in awe of how much you rock. Honestly, if you’re getting that much milk now, you are well on your way to having ample supply for the kiddos. It’s very true that a baby is far superior to a pump in milk extraction. So woot – go you! I’m so excited for you – breastfeeding is am awesome experience. It can be hard at times but in no way does that detract from the awesomeness.

    And they are going to be here soon! Yay!

    Reply
  • 13. chicklet  |  April 24, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Honestly, you doing this that many times a day – holy kudos! Seriously! Because it drives me insane. But man alive are you going to be proud later when you’ll be able to say you did this for them.

    As for your amount, that’s about what I started at – which frustrated me. But I now regularly get 3-5oz depending when he last fed. Im not an over-producer so I don’t get a ton, but it’s enough to allow me to stockpile a bit. I found with pumping it was like my boobs had to get used to it before they really started producing more (because while breastfeeding I had lots, but pumping not so much).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,535 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


