The eve of 34.

April 18, 2010 at 7:34 pm 10 comments

33 weeks 6 days

Tomorrow is day 1 of the 34th week. This means that, thankfully, M has made it to the time where the babies can be born at her local hospital, which is something that M was really hoping for (me too as we have met with the nurse manager and they have such a welcoming attitude towards surrogacy). And it’s close to M’s home, which is so important!

I have a lot of feeling going through me right now, excitement that the babies will be here soon, and fear of course that something may go wrong at the last moment (which is normal for a new expecting mother?), but, I know in my heart that they are safe with M, she’s done such a fantastic time taking care of them for 34 weeks, just(hopefully) 3 more weeks to go!

Our house, and our life, is officially totally ready for these babies, the room is complete, diapers are purchased, freezer full of quick meals and I even got my hair cut!

Thanks so much to everyone for weighing in on the “vaginal vs c-section debate” all your comments are really appreciated…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What would you do? Sightings of the in-utero kind.

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JellyBelly  |  April 18, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Wow!!! Congrats on almost being at the 34th week! That’s awesome!

    I’d love to see photos of the completed nursery, btw!

    Reply
  • 2. Marilyn (A Lot of Loves)  |  April 18, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Yay! I know how relieved you all must be for finally hitting such an important milestone.

    Reply
  • 3. FET Accompli  |  April 18, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    Congrats on making it to 34 weeks! It’s so great that you are so prepared – as you know, at 34 weeks we weren’t entirely ready, because we were expecting at least 35 or 36 weeks, if not 37…

    Reply
  • 4. Kim  |  April 19, 2010 at 2:35 am

    Officially ready tee hee. Wait until your new bosses arrive and then tell us again how ready you are. We are still not ready after five years

    Great news on the magic 34.

    Reply
  • 5. strongwoman  |  April 19, 2010 at 7:23 am

    34 weeks is a big milestone. It must be comforting to know that the babies would be in good hands if they decide to make an early appearance. They wiill continue to get stronger by the day until they arrive, which I’m sure is comforting.

    Interesting to note that you still have fears something may go wrong. I was hoping I would be able to relax once we make it through the first trimester. I should have known better.

    Reply
  • 6. Jill  |  April 19, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Congrats! That is the next to last big milestone – and you made it! The time will go really fast now….well, at least it did for us.

    I know what you mean about fearing that something will go wrong at the last minute. That’s normal during pregnancy but I think it is compounded by the special circumstances of surrogacy. I had the exact same fears and thought “there is no way I will possibly get 2 healthy children after all I have been through- I’m just not that lucky!” Well, they came out healthy and everything was fine. It really does happen- there really can be a happy ending to a long, sad story.

    By the way, do you care if I put your blog on my list of blogs I follow on my blog?
    Jill

    Reply
  • 7. wannabemom  |  April 19, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Woo hoo! Just 3 weeks to go until you get to hold your HEALTHY, happy, beautiful babies in your arms!

    Reply
  • 8. Sarah  |  April 19, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    OMG! Happy 34 weeks. Doing the happy dance for you here!!!

    Reply
  • 9. My Reality  |  April 19, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    I would also love to see photos of the completed nursery and of course of the babies when they arrive.

    It is totally normal to worry. Get used to it!

    Reply
  • 10. MEG.  |  April 20, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    The time has arrived! The waiting period is now only mere peanuts, =)

    Even though I haven’t walked in your shoes, I can imagine that you’re still a ball of nerves. Just remember to keep breathing and focusing on the fact that M is a PRO and that you WILL meet your happy, healthy babies very soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,488 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


