Sightings of the in-utero kind.

April 21, 2010 at 1:27 pm 11 comments

34 weeks 2 days

 Yesterday we had the FINAL high risk OB appointment. M and the babies have now graduated and are under the full care of her OB, which is exciting!  The babies can now come into this world at M’s local hospital, making it a whole lot easier on her and her family! YEA! It’s great to have one goal behind us.

 The ultra sound tech was again, fabulous, this hospital is so warm and welcoming to IPs! I got to sit next to the tech and see all the uterus happenings.

 And we discovered that they both have little surprises for us, both the little boy and little girl have hair! The little boy has more hair than the little girl, but, I was shocked to hear from the tech that they both have hair.

There was a biophysical test and they both received 8 out of 8. As part of the test the tech was trying to get the little boy to wake up and be  a little active so she was poking at him with the probe. Well, our little boy thought that it wasn’t very cool so he gave us the finger! Then, I think,  he felt guilty and gave us a peace sign (which he maintained for a while) and then just started punching around.

 They’re both getting big, our little girl is 4.8 pounds and the little boy is 5.3 pounds! We’re really happy as she is considered average and he is above average for their gestational age!

Thanks for all your responses to my previous question. It got me thinking too, what would I do if I was pregnant? For me, if I was pregnant, I would have a c-section (but this is because I’ve had a laparotomy before and I am not interested in recovering from both).

So far, the plan is for M to try to do a vaginal delivery, and they will try to turn little boy to see if he wants to be head down. If he won’t cooperate, then it’s a c-section. I feel good about this plan and I am very happy that M and I both agree that a breach delivery is too dangerous to attempt!

Of course, as the high risk OB said yesterday ,it all will come down to the OB that is attending when M goes into labour and their experience/comfort level with attempting a vaginal delivery, after all they are the one that has to tell us what is safe/and what isn’t safe.

So, that’s the plan!

Next week we have an appointment with the regular OB, and it’s late enough in the day so that we can all attend! It will be good to hear her perspective on everything and as always it will be fun to see M again!

Entry filed under: third trimester. Tags: , .

The eve of 34. The eve of 35.(updated)

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VA Blondie  |  April 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Glad to hear things are going so well! They will be here before you know it!

    Reply
  • 2. susy  |  April 21, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    That’s wonderful news Duck! 🙂 🙂 Haven’t heard from you in a while, aside from you posts, but I want you to know that I am so excited and overjoyed for you and Mr. Duck! Awesome that the hospital is so receiving, and are treating you great too! As for birth plan.. wanted to share, that I preferred to attempt a vaginal birth, but w/ the baby up on top being transverse I didn’t go for it. I was scared of him not “falling down” head down. Anway, it sounds like things are lining up beautifully!!

    Reply
  • 3. Marilyn (A Lot of Loves)  |  April 21, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    So glad that you have a plan you all feel comfortable with.

    It’s good to hear the little ones are progressing well. My kids were both born with full heads of hair. My lost all of his but my daughter kept most of hers.

    Reply
  • 4. wannabemom  |  April 21, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Wonderful update! Hair is awesome! Who is going to attempt the external version if it becomes necessary? The OB or the Perinatologist? If the OB isn’t comfortable doing it, can the Peri. be on hand, just in case?

    Reply
  • 5. FET Accompli  |  April 22, 2010 at 12:35 am

    Hair and everything!! This is so very exciting. I’ll bet you can’t wait o meet them (when they are ready to come out!)

    Reply
  • 6. Kerri-Lyn  |  April 22, 2010 at 10:49 am

    YAY! So excited for you!

    Reply
  • 7. Sarah  |  April 22, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Glad that you’re able to catch the next appointment! There aren’t going to be many left!!!

    Sounds like you have all of your ducks in a row!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Jill  |  April 22, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    That sounds like a great plan! Now you don’t have to worry about them trying to deliver the baby breech and doing something to his hips. Sounds like the perfect plan to me! Those are great weights too. They told us the boys were 5lbs3oz at 34w6d weeks. They were born at 36w5d and were 6lbs2oz and 6lbs10oz – so your babies might even weight more then they told you!! I see 7 pounders in your future 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Christina  |  April 23, 2010 at 12:53 am

    great news!!! what great great great weights for your twins!!! congratulations!!!! im getting excited now too!!! haha…

    Reply
  • 10. Phoebe  |  April 24, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Those are really good weights. It will be any day now for delivery? I was born breech. I think this whole automatic c-section for breech babies is a bit reactionary. You can read KayJay’s blog about her twin delivery: http://amiracletocome.blogspot.com/
    One of her twin girls was delivered breech.

    Reply
    • 11. thecanadianduck  |  April 25, 2010 at 9:22 am

      I agree – this is why we are going to try and flip him over, but if he doesn’t flip, then it’s a c, for me,I have a feeling deep inside that something will go horribly wrong if a breach extraction is attempted, and those are just my instincts, and I have to trust them (that and I was born with dislocated hips so the probability is one or both of them may have dislocated hips so pulling on their little legs would be a REALLY bad idea.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,570 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


