Guess who arrived?

May 8, 2010 at 2:05 pm 40 comments

Three days old (I think)

My memory is slightly foggy but that is just a side effect of sleep deprivation.

Our perfect little people are here.

On Tuesday at 4am we received a phone call from the very calm husband of the fantastic M saying that the babies “maybe on the way”.

The birth story is long, and I will hopefully write about it in detail but here is the highlights:

They arrived via c-section at 6:05 pm and 6:07 PM, as you know a c was not the plan and M laboured away from 4am to 4pm when c-sectionwas again discussed, if my memory is right, M dilated to 6cm at 8am and then stopped. The doctor (whom I think  made the right recommendation) just said that it’s too risky, because he was still breach (he did turn transverse for a while), and the labour wasn’t progressing.

Baby A came screaming into the world  at 6:05 PM weighing 5 pounds 12 ounces. She gave a nice huge cry as soon as she came out (we think they cleaned her up in the OR and we were outside the OR).

Baby B came out  breach and from what I was told it was hard to get him out (he loved M’s ribs) at 6:07 pm, and they moved him directly into the room where we were. For what felt like an eternity but was only  a few minutes he did not cry, we were told that his heart didn’t stop pumping he just wasn’t breathing yet. The team worked on him, and if you have never had an NICU team work on your baby then let me tell you it was like ER, there was  a nurse yelling at the other staff to move and hurry and alterternately yelling at our little boy to breathe.

It was the worst 2 minutes of my life. Yet I didn’t cry (and still haven’t). All I could think was he has to be fine.

There is no other option.

Apparently his cord had a “true knot” (something they did not know until after the c section) and we were told that doing a vaginal birth would have been very dangerous and stressful on the little guy so we are so so so grateful for M’s willingness to have  a c-section, yet again she proven what kind of a person she is, caring, generous and selfless…

We were so grateful for them to come into the world on tuesday, and so terrified that something would go wrong, it was such an intense day that days later we were visited by M’s original OB (who was there tuesday morning) she told us that she went home and bawled her eyes out because she couldn’t be there when the babies were born (she was at the end of her 24 hour on call shift), she said it was the first time in her career that’s ever happened.

More details on the days that follow their birth in another post.

For now I will leave you with a quote and some pics.

Our neighbour brought this amazing painting to us last night and it says

“For a long time, there were only

footprints & laughter

in our dreams

& even from

such small things,

we knew we could not wait

to love you forever.

(our neighbours get it – they get surrogacy – they get being infertile – they get it).

Little A (giraffe)

Little B (monkey)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

three and six Our new life

40 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachael l  |  May 8, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    How incredible!!! I am so happy for you! They are beautiful babies!

    Reply
  • 2. My Reality  |  May 8, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Oh wow! I have tears in my eyes! Huge, huge congrats!!

    Reply
  • 3. VA Blondie  |  May 8, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Wonderful! So exciting for you!

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 4. Susy  |  May 8, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Oh Duck!! Congratulations!! They’re beautiful and perfect! Love the quote and am so happy you have M and other ppl in your life that ‘get it’. I know you’ll be super busy nowadays but I hope it hear from you soon. Pls let me know if there is anything I can help you with – I haven’t heard from you in a while. I’m here for you and so happy for you and Mr. Duck! Xo

    Reply
  • 5. Cyn  |  May 8, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Oh my!! They are absolutely beautiful!! What an amazing week! Enjoy your Mother’s Day Duck!!
    Their names are beautiful as well.
    Amazing!

    Reply
  • 6. Allison  |  May 8, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I have tears in my eyes for you and Mr. Duck. Congratulations. They are perfect and I love their names. What a perfect week to be born, enjoy your very first mother’s day with those sweet babes in your arms.

    Reply
  • 7. Denise  |  May 8, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Gorgeous! Now the fun really begins!

    Reply
  • 8. Intending to be Parents  |  May 8, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    HUGE Congratulations to everyone!!! Beautiful, gorgeous/handsome babies you have there!
    Have an absolutely fantastic 1st Mother’s Day!!!

    Reply
  • 9. "M" aka the Bun-Baker  |  May 8, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    They are absolutley beautiful, but of course I am a little biased!!! I am truly thankful and honoured that you allowed me to be a part of your journey. I can’t imagine two people who were more deserving of being parents! You both are absolutely amazing, and hold a special place in my heart.

    Reply
  • 10. Sarah  |  May 8, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Beautiful. Perfect little bundles!!!

    No words can express how happy I am for you! Congrats to you!

    Reply
  • 11. JellyBelly  |  May 8, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    They’re here!!!!!! I’m so glad that you can celebrate Mother’s Day with your bundles of joy!!!!

    Congrats Mr. & Mrs. Duck!

    Reply
  • 12. MEG.  |  May 8, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Love. Just pure love, And perfection.

    Your children are HERE!

    Welcome to the world, Nathaniel and Abigayle!

    Reply
  • 13. Sandibeach  |  May 8, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Congratulations, they are adorable… I’m so happy for you N…we both now have our precious miracles… thanks so much for helping me find Dr. M in Montreal and I’m so glad you found your miracle GC and that she gave you those precious children…enjoy it. Can’t wait to read more about how it’s going. Take care!!!

    Reply
  • 14. g  |  May 8, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    I am so very very very happy for you.

    Enjoy your precious bundles.

    g

    Reply
  • 15. robyn  |  May 8, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    oh hunny!! Congratulations!!!!!

    I hope you have the very best first Mother’s Day you could have ever imagined!

    I am So happy for you! You’re time has arrived….

    Reply
  • 16. Jennifer LD  |  May 8, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Delurking to say congratulations! The babies are just beautiful – great names. Happy Mother’s Day!

    Can’t wait to hear the birth story and to see more pics.

    Enjoy!!

    Reply
  • 17. FET Accompli  |  May 8, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!
    They are perfect in every way.
    Happy Mother’s Day my dear!!

    Reply
  • 18. Kim  |  May 9, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Wow they look so much like their Dad. Congratulations both. Enjoy every moment. K P & J xxx

    Reply
  • 19. Maria  |  May 9, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Congratulations to you and Mr Duck.

    Your babies are breathtaking.

    Happy Mother’s Day.

    XOXO

    Reply
  • 20. christina ferguson  |  May 9, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    wow! they are precious!!! congratulations and a true Happy Mothers Day!!!! enjoy it!!!

    Reply
  • 21. bustedbabymaker  |  May 9, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    They are just beautiful. I’m in tears for you – just thinking back to how many years ago (3 now) we met as cycle buddies for our IVFs…neither of us had the easiest road to our little ones, but WOW, how amazing when it finally happens.

    One million congrats to you and your family. So incredibly happy for you all.

    Reply
  • 22. Rachel/ Infertile Turtle  |  May 9, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    I was wondering when we didn’t see an update for a bit! 🙂

    Your sweet little giraffe & monkey are so precious! I am so happy for you. Got tears in my eyes & chillbumps on my legs! Amazing miracles, they are!!

    Reply
  • 23. Sunny  |  May 9, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Oooooh!!!!!!!! Congratulations!!!!!!! They are absolutely gorgeous, and I love the names you picked. Welcome to the wonderful world of twin parenthood. It’s not for sissies. 🙂

    Reply
  • 24. Jill  |  May 9, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Yippeee!! Happy Mothers day! They are beautiful, you should be so proud 🙂 Love the names, are you going to call them by their full names or Abby and Nate? So happy that they are here and are healthy and are where they ultimately belong – with you!! Your surrogate did an amazing job carrying them – she should be very proud of herself too.
    Congrats and enjoy your first days with your son and daughter.

    Reply
  • 25. Karma  |  May 10, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Congratulations!!! Welcome to parenthood – so much amazing stuff coming your way. Such a gift, isn’t it?

    Reply
  • 26. Nadeen  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    N, They are beautiful!!! So glad everyone is doing well and I wish M a speedy recovery! Can’t wait to read more about the big day and the adventures you have undoubtedly already had with your little ones!

    Reply
  • 27. uncomplicateme  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Sweetie, they.are.beautiful. Your dreams have come true, and I’m beyond happy for you. Enjoy the tiny-ness, it goes wayyyy too fast. 😉 xoxo

    Reply
  • 28. Danielle  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Your story is a true inspiration. Congrats of the long awaited arrival of your daughter and son.

    Reply
  • 29. Kerri-Lyn  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    So happy for you Duck!!! They are sooo beautiful!

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 30. wannabemom  |  May 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Congratulations, Duck!!! I am so delighted to hear that all went well and that your very special little ones are finally here – safe and sound! What a fantastic surro you have! Sending many many good wishes your way. Enjoy every minute MAMA!

    Reply
  • 31. Jamie  |  May 10, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Congratulations!! I am so very, very happy for you. I wish I were there to give you a giant hug, Mr. Duck a giant hug and M a GIANT hug. I have tears in my eyes for you.

    I love the quote. How wonderful to have neighbors who ‘get’ it.

    Reply
  • 32. annacyclopedia  |  May 11, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Oh, my! They are radiant and perfect. I am so, so happy for you and Mr. Duck. Congratulations and much love to you four and to the heroic M!

    Reply
  • 33. Rebecca  |  May 11, 2010 at 11:33 am

    I am crying in happiness. This is one of the most amazing things, I have honest-to-God tears running down my face. Abigayle and Nathaniel are just perfect in every way. Welcome to the world little ones.

    M really is amazing, she did a wonderful thing birthing your babes.

    I wish you guys so much love and happpiness – today is a day for celebration and rejoicing!

    Reply
  • 34. Deborah  |  May 11, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Coming out of hiding to give you a GREAT BIG Congratulations. They are beautiful. I can’t tell you how happy I am for you. Enjoy motherhood, it is the hardest job you will ever love.

    Reply
  • 35. Me  |  May 11, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    WELCOME DUCKLINGS!!!!

    Reply
  • 36. jaymee  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    they are just beautiful!!!! super huge congratulations to all of you!!!

    Reply
  • 37. Amanda  |  May 14, 2010 at 8:46 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    They are perfect and beautiful and every other amazing description I can think of!

    Reply
  • 38. Mo  |  May 14, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Oh Duck!!!!!! They are absolutely the most beautiful creatures I have ever seen. Congratulations!!!!!

    Love,

    Mo

    Reply
  • 39. babysmiling  |  May 17, 2010 at 11:09 am

    Here from LFCA…

    Congratulations! They are both beautiful. Life with newborn twins is nuts, but so wonderful. Enjoy!!

    Reply
  • 40. Amanda  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    A very belated CONGRADULATIONS on the birth of your babies! They are sooo very beautiful! Enjoy these days and moments, I’m so happy everything turned out wonderfully!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,535 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


