Our new life

May 12, 2010 at 3:34 pm 20 comments

8 days old

I am not sure where this blog is going, if you are reading expecting a blow by blow of what the babies are doing you will be disappointed, while I adore my babies, this blog is about, ye know, me, it’s my space so you will be reading more about me and my take on motherhood and our new life.

HAving the babies home with us is like heaven on earth. Life in the hospital and in the NICU is stressful and exhausting, and we are just so happy to be here, in our nest with our little ducklings.

You may be wondering about breastfeeding and how that is going. Well, some of you have babies who were in nicu will know that when in the nicu bottles and formula seem to be the norm, but since arriving home things are progressing well. I’m using a device and ice called a “lactaid” and it’s essentially a little tube that I insert into their mouth once they are latched on that supplements them. At first I wasn’t sure about it, but, now I quite like the tool, they are getting my milk, my supply is growing (and my boobs) and I know that they are also getting the extra calories from the formula or expressed breast milk from the lactaid. That said, they still do get bottles, right now they feed every 3 hours and one gets to breast feed the other one gets a bottle from Mr. Duck (he’s home with me for 3 weeks!). Our babies are both unique in that they seem to prefer to bf over the bottle and twist and turn their little head when they see that plastic nipple coming at them!

How do I feel? Like a warrior coming home from war. I feel like this has been such a long road, with so many little battles, and so many big battles. We’re  here, we’re exhausted, and we are so very very happy. Every time they cry it makes me happy, I’m grateful that the air is coming into their lungs, that they are here with us, that they are finally home.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Guess who arrived? A Moment to blog

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shutterboxphoto  |  May 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Oh my. I’m crying at my desk. The last paragrah sums it up perfect. You might want to put that as your tagline here… 😉 But honestly, I’m so glad you’re all doing wonderful! That’s awesome news!! Enjoy those little people!! Much love and hugs to them, and you!

    Reply
  • 2. Susy  |  May 12, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    Oops!!! I commented with my photography sign-in: ShutterBox Photo. It’s me, though!! xo

    Reply
  • 3. christina ferguson  |  May 12, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    that was a beautiful post..i can hear the elation and exhaution in your words! 🙂 thats great that you are doing so great nursing and supplementing !!! i think its a great idea to keep your blog about you and i am sooo happy for you!!!

    Reply
  • 4. JellyBelly  |  May 12, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Oh yes you are a warrior!! A victorious one!!!

    Congrats again my friend, I’m so absolutely happy for you!

    Reply
  • 5. VA Blondie  |  May 12, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    I agree that you are a victorious warrior!
    Congrats! It sounds like the babies are doing fantastic.

    Reply
  • 6. Sarah  |  May 12, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    I’ve been thinking about you and your babes lots!!!! I’m so happy to read about the breastfeeding – I haven’t wanted to bother you with mail. WTG lady!!! The lactaid sounds awesome – what a great invention!

    Wishing you restful sleeps when you are able my warrior friend! This will have been the greatest and most rewarding battle you have ever fought.

    Lots of love!

    Reply
  • 7. Cyn  |  May 13, 2010 at 12:23 am

    So glad you posted this little update. So often people forget that we want to hear about the women who’s been talking for so long. I love the tidbits you shared.
    Sumer loved the Lactaid as well and found it much easier to bf 1 and bottle feed the other at one feeding and then switch for the next feed (she didn’t discover this until the 2nd set though).
    Sounds like you’re doing great!!
    Keep it up and thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 8. Rebecca  |  May 13, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Oh wow – just amazing 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Maria  |  May 13, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Such a beautiful post. You are a warrior. I love how well the babies are doing and that bf is going great.

    Reply
  • 10. Jill  |  May 13, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    So proud of you for getting the breastfeeding down! That little tool sounds awesome- wish I had one of those but mine would never really latch on. Love the analogy to a warrior coming home from battle – that is perfect! And, you’ve won 🙂

    I’m looking forward to following this new and exciting phase of your life!

    Reply
  • 11. Jamie  |  May 13, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    I am so very happy for you! I can only imagine what a ‘win’ this feels like for you. You and Mr. Duck are warriors – you FOUGHT for those babies. I hope they know how loved they are.

    Reply
  • 12. Sunny  |  May 13, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Truly a gorgeous post. You are a warrior — you fought tenaciously for those precious gifts, and now you continue to fight to give them the best start in life. You are an amazing mama, and I am so excited for your journey that begins here!

    Reply
  • 13. My Reality  |  May 13, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    It is so good to read happiness! I am glad that all is well with the babies and you are nursing ok.

    I am at home, so if you do need any help with things, let me know.

    Reply
  • 14. FET Accompli  |  May 14, 2010 at 12:12 am

    Congrats Mama Warrior!!

    Reply
  • 15. cowgirltn  |  May 14, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Fantastic!! You should get a metal.

    Reply
  • 16. JJ  |  May 14, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Im SO HAPPY to hear the news! YAY!

    Reply
  • 17. phoebephoenix  |  May 14, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Huge congrats! I’m really interested in how you got the bf to work out! Here’s to happiness!!

    Reply
  • 18. Me  |  May 15, 2010 at 2:26 am

    You ARE a victorious warrior! Yay!

    Reply
  • 19. annacyclopedia  |  May 15, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Welcome home from the war, sweetie.

    I have tears in my eyes as I write this – because I know that deep feeling of relief, and I am so, so glad you are experiencing it now.

    And well done on the breastfeeding – I’m so glad things are going well so far. Keep up the good work – I am brimming with pride!

    Reply
  • 20. Emily  |  May 17, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    You are amazing sweetie! I think of the 4 of you every day. Enjoy every second – it changes so fast! xoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,617 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


