Updates!

May 27, 2010 at 11:43 am 10 comments

3 weeks old

  • I’ve officially survived one day on my own (Mr. Duck went back to work yesterday) it’s been busy but I LOVE spending time with them, feeding them and watching them grow (they’re both smiling more often) and little monkey is so attached to his sister we have to make sure she’s in the crib fed and ready to sleep before him because he will NOT settle until she’s in there with him.
  • As of a week ago almost all documents needed for the declaration of parentage have been signed! We’re just waiting on M’s portion and then a court date can be set! The lawyers think it will be wrapped up quickly which is so exciting as we’re hoping to fly in July to see Mr. Duck’s brother/sister in law/niece who we only get to see once every two years – if we miss this time  it will be another TWO YEARS till we see them again!
  • Why is it that everyone only speaks with me now about monkey and giraffe? They are wonderful amazing little people but my brain still works and would love love to use it to talk about grown up stuff, the upcoming G8, world politics, fashion, oil crisis, ye know anything adult like.

ANd a pic – on the left is Monkey and the right is Giraffe:

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Moment to blog a hard day

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susy  |  May 27, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Omgoodness!!! Seriously, how cute are they?!?!? I just want to go through the screen and squeeze them and love on them! Glad to hear that they’re doing so well and that the declaration is moving along so nicely! As for adult talk.. it’ll come back, you’ll see. But for a while, it’ll mostly be geared toward Monkey and Giraffe. Huge hugs and high fives for doing this alone! It’s tough some days, but it truly is so awesome to know YOU ARE doing it! xo

    Reply
  • 2. VA Blondie  |  May 27, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    They are too cute! Thanks for sharing the pic!

    I agree that adult talk will come back. I think the reason I went back to work was so that I could enjoy some adult talk. But it is focused on baby for quite a while.

    Reply
  • 3. Rebecca @ Unexplained X2  |  May 27, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Love those little belly buttons! People don’t talk to you about normal people stuff either? I thought it was just me!!!

    Reply
  • 4. JellyBelly  |  May 27, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    They are so cute!!! I love how close they are in the photo!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Denise  |  May 27, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Adorable!

    I don’t think the adult talk came back for me until I went back to work. I think people forget you are still a person, an adult with opinions. It wasn’t such a bad thing for me though, as I felt like my brain was mush anyway.

    Reply
  • 6. My Reality  |  May 27, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    They are precious!

    Reply
  • 7. annacyclopedia  |  May 27, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Um, how bout them Jays?

    Sorry, I’m all wrapped up in newborn squishiness…

    Oh, yeah, adult stuff. It does come back, although for me it is kind of different because my attention is so divided. Like in the middle of a brilliant point about feminist politics, I have to stop and smooch the boy and tickle his ham-legs and look in his beautiful eyes. So conversations tend to meander a bit and I’m always thinking afterwards about other questions I had or things I wanted to say. It’s a weird feeling sometimes.

    Reply
  • 8. Cyn  |  May 28, 2010 at 10:30 am

    They are amazing!!
    There’s a fine line with adult talk. Is someone barely mentioned the ducklings and only had ‘adult talk’ for you, wouldn’t you feel a little bit like they don’t think your ducklings are the most amazing thing on earth?
    Even if you go out alone with ‘adult friends’, wouldn’t you find it rude if they didn’t talk about the ducklings just a little bit?

    I think if you start sending out STRONG signals that you are ready to step out from the bliss of babyhood and still have ‘real’ conversations, people will pick up on it-eventually.

    Reply
  • 9. Jamie  |  May 28, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    My heart just leaps looking at that picture!

    I had conversation problems myself. Only I was the biggest problem – I hadn’t done anything BUT spend time with Skeeter. When I went back to work it took me a little while to build up a stash of non-baby stories.

    Give them both a little nuzzle for me!

    Reply
  • 10. J  |  June 13, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    they are soooooo adorable and so big!!!!!!!!! Congratulations again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 32,535 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

wordpress
visitor

Recent Posts


